Solitude

I sit alone at the table

with a drink in my hand

and I watch as the world

turns in the blink of an eye.

The incessant babble of

conversation mires my thoughts

and I can no longer see clear

through the haze of modern life.

Everything becomes a blur

and I neither know nor care

for the trivial matters that escape

from their mouths to the air.

Solitude is the driving force

of my world as I sit and

voicelessly observe the chaos

so brilliantly place before me.

No one can see me here

and no one even notices

as I sit silenced by the

cautionary tale in my soul.

Solitude is all that I am

and all that I have

but life’s splintering nature

must surely crack for good.

Leave a Reply

