Inside The Mind

When I close my eyes

I see myself inside a padded cell

the doors are locked, the windows barred

and there’s not a soul to hear my cries. 

What hope is there to give

when darkness rages up against

the hungry eye of wanton solitude

to feed on wretched lies?

Will this journey end

with all goodness torn to shreds

by the savagery of tortured minds

until all that’s human dies?

Now my eyes must open

and see the reality of this life

the walls unpadded, the doors unlocked

yet still trapped where nothing flies. 

Leave a Reply

