The Scarecrow and the Crow

Purposefully, I will stand in snow

underneath the twilight glow

though the skies shine red

and all around is dead. 

 

Shamefully, I watch as you sleep

On my straw shoulders to keep 

you safe from night-time harm

whilst all around is calm. 

 

Mercifully, do your black eyes see

what I now have come to be

for the truth clouds all

and I am in your thrall. 

 

Gracefully, your feathered wings unfold

taking flight from all I hold 

Your parting gift of white

is all I have this night. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

